

**COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA** 

Department of Health Office of Emergency Medical Services 1041 Technology Park Drive Glen Allen, VA 23059-4500

1-800-523-6019 (VA only) 804-888-9100 (Main Office) 804-888-9120 (Training Office) FAX: 804-371-3108

Gary R. Brown Director

P. Scott Winston Assistant Director

Proposed Agenda House Bill 1728 Workgroup Meeting VDH OEMS 1041 Technology Park Drive Glen Allen, VA 23059

> April 24, 2017 10:00 a.m.

- I. Call meeting to order
- II. Introductions/Opening Statements
- III. Review of House Bill 1728 Language
- IV. Review of pertinent reference documents (see page 2 for list of documents)
- V. Determination of tasks the workgroup is to accomplish
- VI. Identification of subgroups to address tasks.
- VII. Determination of timeline for completion of workgroup tasks.
- VIII. Public Comment
- IX. Determination of next meeting
- X. Adjournment



# HB1728 Workgroup Resource Documents

- Virginia EMS Regulations for Air Medical Services
- Medevac in Virginia Overview Presentation
- Virginia House Joint Resolution 636 1997
- 1999 Medevac JLARC Report
- VDH Response to 1999 JLARC Report
- House Bill 2751 2003 General Assembly Session
- JLARC Medevac Status Report 2004
- Maryland Air Ambulance Study 2006
- Montana House Joint Resolution 29
- Montana Senate Bill 44
- Airline Deregulation Act overview
- AAMS Air Medical Cost Study Report
- Consumer Reports Article
- Department of Health and Human Services Document on HEMS Billing
- Association of Air Medical Services (AAMS) Model State Guidelines
- American College of Emergency Physicians Guidelines for Air Medical Dispatch
- National Association of State EMS Officials (NASEMSO) Air Medical Update
- NASEMSO State Model Rules for Air Medical Services
- Virginia State Trauma Triage Plan



# HB1728 Workgroup Representatives:

• Law Enforcement: Virginia State Police – Lt. Jay Cullen (Unit Commander – VSP Aviation)

# • EMS Providers:

- Deputy Chief Eddie Ferguson Goochland County Dept. of Fire-Rescue & Emergency Services, Past President Virginia Association of Governmental Administrators
- o Derrick S. Ruble Director of 911 & Emergency Communications, Tazewell County, VA

#### • Health Insurance Providers:

- Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance Jim Young, Insurance Policy Advisor Policy, Compliance and Administration Division
- o Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services Bill Zeiser, Transportation Unit Supervisor
- Virginia Association of Health Plans Kyle Shreve, Director of Policy

#### • Medevac Committee:

- o Anita Perry Medevac Committee Chair
- Julia Marsden Vice Chair (Facilitator)
- Emergency Physicians: George Lindbeck, MD, State Medical Director

# • Interested Stakeholders:

- o Rob Hamilton, President, Med-Trans Air Medical Transport (representing medevac operators)
- Erik Bodin, Director, VDH Office of Licensure and Certification
- Paul Davenport, Vice President Emergency Services, Carilion Clinic (representing VHHA)
- Paul Sharpe, Director of Trauma Services, Henrico Doctors' Hospital (representing VHHA)
- Ed Rhodes Rhodes Consulting

